sweetpeasnacks

Balancing Food, Fitness, and Fun

Bouncing Back From a Rough Shopping Trip

2 Comments

Sorry about the lack of blogging that’s been going on these past few days – I was off watching fireworks and enjoying time with Matt’s family.

Fact: fireworks are awesome.  However, they are somewhat less awesome when you are surrounded by a huge crowd of people (including a particularly angry/rude gentleman in a smart car), and they don’t start on time.  This was the case Friday night, and Matt and I ended up bailing 15 minutes after they started.  He was a little bummed, but we made up for it by meeting his best friends for drinks instead.  We had SUCH A GOOD TIME! Plus, we got to see fireworks Saturday night (which were way better than Friday night’s, if you ask me).

Oh, and another fun fact about this weekend: I somehow burst a capillary in my eye 😦 I’m not exactly sure how, seeing as I hadn’t really done anything too strenuous in the days leading up to the weekend…oh well.  It doesn’t hurt or anything, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t panic just a bit when I went to do my makeup and noticed a big red spot on my eyeball!

Also, I GOT A JOB!!! This is my last week as an unemployed college grad 🙂

What I really want to talk about today, though, is the challenge of shopping while going through recovery from an ED.  .With the new job, I knew I needed to do some shopping over the long weekend; my wardrobe is seriously lacking in office-appropriate clothes that actually fit.  Easier said than done.  I know I’ve gained weight, and I’m sort of ok with it at this point (some days more so than others), but having to buy new clothes makes it feel so much more real.  Buying new clothes is proving to be a lot harder than I ever could have anticipated.

So true!

Yup, this is how I felt. (source)

We went to the mall on Saturday, and I managed to find a blouse and cardigan that I liked.  However, we went out again on Monday and it was a bit of a disaster (the fact that I was exhausted from the weekend definitely didn’t help either).  There were some great sales, so I ended up in a store that I wouldn’t normally be able to afford.  There were only a handful of fitting rooms, and I ended up waiting for 15-20 minutes to even get in to one.  I should have just taken that as a sign and left the store.  When I finally did get a dressing room, nothing fit, and I quickly became discouraged.  I left empty-handed and ended up bursting into tears 5 minutes into the ride home.  Not exactly the outcome I was hoping for.

This is just another hurdle I need to get over, but I’m hesitant to go out shopping again any time soon.  Unfortunately, I really do need work clothes, so I’m a little bit stuck.

For now, I’m going to stick to shopping for shoes -no matter what size I am, I will always love cute shoes!

Whenever I get tired of shopping. I just sit down and try on more shoes # Shoe quotes

So true. (source)

Have you ever struggled with shopping after gaining/losing weight?

Have you ever had a really disappointing shopping trip?

Did you have a good 4th of July weekend?

 

2 thoughts on “Bouncing Back From a Rough Shopping Trip

  1. Ugh I can so relate to this. It is a big part of why I hate shopping although not so much anymore now that my body isn’t changing. I’m pretty comfortable with myself finally, but trying on clothes isn’t easy for anyone. I’ve found that dresses seem to work if you can find flowy ones and looser fit pants are easier to fit into. Getting used to buying a bigger size isn’t easy but you’ll be more comfortable in something that fits 🙂 Anyways, CONGRATS ON THE JOB!

Leave a comment